Grand Trailer Park Taverna (Bourke St, Melbourne CBD)

American-diner theme/concept place 

I had been craving for hamburgers for quite a while. I wanted to try Andrew’s last weekend but T complaint of the inconvenience of getting parking. He suggested Merrywell which I had tried and which I felt was pricey and not value for money, or somewhere in Surrey Hills (south east near to Box Hill). In the end he opted for Merrywell, but then another name sprung up Grand Trailer Park Taverna. It seems to be a much more affordable choice than Merrywell and so I urged T to go to Grand Trailer Park Taverna.

Located on the second floor, the atmosphere is casual. There are some seats that evokes the feeling of being in a trailer. It’s a great place to knock back a few drinks, grab a burger and fries, maybe a dessert of if you feel you can afford the calories and cash to burn, you can knock down one of the milkshakes with booze. Prices start at $17. I skipped the milkshake and opted for a cider on tap to go with the pub grub.

T was debating between the KSA Burger and the Francis Underwood. In the end he opted for the latter (not pictured)- Premium Aussie Beef Patty, American Cheddar Cheese, Tomato, Butter Lettuce, Potato Mac and Cheese Croquette, Special Burger Sauce, American Mustard on a lightly toasted Brioche Bun.

My first impression was that the burger was much more massive than what I ordered. The Croquette was around palm size and thick. T remarked that the croquette should be eaten on its own and not with the burger. Things also seemed to get a little messy with the croquette around. I can’t comment on the taste because I didn’t have a bite at it. Maybe next time if I do return and order the burger. But it seemed to be rather filling.

For myself, I had the The Chunk – Double Double – Two premium Aussie beef patties, double American cheddar cheese, caramelized onion, jalapenos, diced gherkins, American mustard & tomato sauce on a lightly toasted brioche bun. For $16.50, I thought it was a good deal.

I would rate the burger as decent/average It just didn’t wow me. It just had everything a burger should have. The patty wasn’t too dry. But it wasn’t oozing with juices either. The bun was light, buttery and little crisp from the toasting. It wasn’t the best burger which I had, but it wasn’t the best either.

The fries were also average. It’s great junk food and addictive, but I think I had better fries elsewhere such as Nieuw Amsterdam, Tree of Us, Hell of the North to deem the fries here to really be average.

I’ll probably be back though to satisfy my curiosity about the Francis Underwood burger.

Grand Trailer Park Taverna on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment