Burger Project (World Square, George St, Sydney)

Definitely one of the better burgers I’ve had in Australia

 

20150711_165920Neil Perry is one of Australia’s celebrated chefs. Rockpool Bar & Grill is one of the projects in the Rockpool group – the burger being one of the more popular items. As such, the group decided to bring the burger to more people – by making it more affordable without compromising on quality.

That’s the PR spin.

I came across Burger Project in the Timeout Sydney magazine. And since its screams the intervention of Neil Perry and Rockpool group, I was pretty much interested in checking it out.  And since my return flight to Melbourne was at an awkward hour around dinner time, and reaching home to Melbourne in time for the start of supper, I decided to have my meal somewhere and I settled on Burger Project for its convenience to the hotel.

I had the Double – 2x grass fed beef, cheese, onions, lettuce, tomato, pickles, secret sauce.

And I liked the burger very much. This was definitely one of the better burgers I had in Australia. The patty was cooked to medium (although medium rare might have been nicer so as to let more juices flow out) and it was a little smashed. It wasn’t dry and was moist to the last bite (I was taking my own sweet time to finish the burger). I don’t think the cheese or the buns were all gourmet or brioche or whatever, but when put together it was just a nice perfect comforting burger that somewhat brought back memories of New York, Shake Shack and to a certain extent Omakase Burger in Singapore. Yup. I don’t mind spending $13.90 on this. That’s how good it is.

Let’s hope Burger Project will open its doors in Melbourne some day.

Click to add a blog post for Burger Project on Zomato

One comment

  1. I’ve walked past the Burger Project, but never eaten there. Maybe I should give it a try…

Leave a Reply

